❄️Holiday Sale On NOW! Save Up To 30% - PLUS Free Mag Pouch w/ Purchase Of Gun Holster!🎄

Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map

The Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map below shows you which states you can carry concealed in, as well as which states honor your Concealed Carry Permit. Click on a state below on the map for more information.

Alaska Alabama Arkansas Arizona California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Iowa Idaho Illinois Indiana Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Massachusetts Maryland Maine Michigan Minnesota Missouri Mississippi Montana North Carolina North Dakota Nebraska New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico Nevada New York Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Virginia Vermont Washington Wisconsin West Virginia Wyoming

Alaska reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Alaska is a Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue) state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

38 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
Iowa, Mississippi, Rhode Island, South Dakota

Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - No
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue)
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $87
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5
c

Alabama reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Alabama is a Shall Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 19 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

31 STATES

Resident Licences
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 19
  • Permit Cost (new) - $100
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

Arkansas reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Arkansas is a Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue) state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

37 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - No
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue)
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $143.4
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

Arizona reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Arizona is a Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue) state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

37 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - No
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue)
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $60
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

California reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

California is a May Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 2 years.

24 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin

Non-Resident Licences
NONE

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes
  • Purchase permit required - Yes
  • Registration of firearm - Yes
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - Yes
  • Magazine size restriction - Yes

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - May Issue
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $70-$100
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 2

Colorado reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Colorado is a Shall Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

32 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
NONE

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - Yes
  • Magazine size restriction - Yes

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $52
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

Connecticut reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Connecticut is a May Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

24 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes
  • Purchase permit required - Yes
  • Registration of firearm - Yes
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - Yes
  • Magazine size restriction - Yes

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - May Issue
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $70-$135
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

Delaware reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Delaware is a May Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 3-5 years.

28 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia

Non-Resident Licences
NONE

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Missouri, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia

Idaho – Delaware only honors the Idaho Enhanced Permit,
South Dakota – Delaware only honors the South Dakota Enhanced Permit,
North Dakota – Delaware only honors the North Dakota Class 1 Permit

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - Yes
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - May Issue
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $65
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 3-5

Florida reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Florida is a Shall Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 7 years.

36 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - No
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $97
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 7

Georgia reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Georgia is a Shall Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

33 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
NONE

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $75
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

Hawaii reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Hawaii is a May Issue (but operates as no issue) state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents.

23 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin

Non-Resident Licences
NONE

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - Yes
  • Registration of firearm - Yes
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - Yes
  • Magazine size restriction - Yes handguns / No long guns

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - May Issue (but operates as no issue)
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $10
  • Permit Valid for (years) - ?

Iowa reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Iowa is a Shall Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

33 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $50
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

Idaho reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Idaho is a Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue) state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

25 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
NONE

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - No
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue)
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $20
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

Illinois reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Illinois is a Shall Issue (with discretion) state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

26 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - Yes
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - No
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - Yes
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue (with discretion)
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $150
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

Indiana reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Indiana is a Shall Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 18 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 4 years.

32 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 18
  • Permit Cost (new) - $40
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 4

Kansas reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Kansas is a Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue) state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 4 years.

37 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - No
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue)
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $132
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 4

Kentucky reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Kentucky is a Shall Issue (Constitutional carry will go into effect July 1, 2019) state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

37 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
NONE

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue (Constitutional carry will go into effect July 1, 2019)
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $60
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

Louisiana reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Louisiana is a Shall Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 5yrs. / lifetime.

38 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
NONE

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $125 / $500
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5 Yrs. / Lifetime

Massachusetts reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Massachusetts is a May Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 6 years.

24 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - Yes
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - Yes
  • Magazine size restriction - Yes

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - May Issue
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $100
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 6

Maryland reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Maryland is a May Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 2 years.

23 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / n/a long guns
  • Purchase permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Registration of firearm - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Open carry allowed - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - Yes handguns / Partial long guns
  • Magazine size restriction - Yes

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - May Issue
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $75
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 2

Maine reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Maine is a Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue) state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 18 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 4 years.

28 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wyoming

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Wyoming

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - No
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue)
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 18
  • Permit Cost (new) - $35
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 4

Michigan reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Michigan is a Shall Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

39 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
NONE

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: District of Columbia, New York City, Puerto Rico

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $100
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

Minnesota reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Minnesota is a Shall Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

26 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin

Alaska, Delaware, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Dakota, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, West Virginia

Idaho – Honors ID Enhanced Only

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes
  • Purchase permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $100
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

Missouri reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Missouri is a Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue) state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

37 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
NONE

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: District of Columbia, Guam, New York City, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - No
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue)
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $93
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

Mississippi reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Mississippi is a Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue) state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

33 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - No
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue)
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $112
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

Montana reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Montana is a Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue) state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 18 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 4 years.

31 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
NONE

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: New York City

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - No
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue)
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 18
  • Permit Cost (new) - $60
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 4

North Carolina reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

North Carolina is a Shall Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

38 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
NONE

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $80
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

North Dakota reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

North Dakota is a Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue) state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

39 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue)
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $60
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

Nebraska reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Nebraska is a Shall Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

29 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
NONE

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota,Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: District of Columbia

Iowa – Nebraska will only honor the Non-professional permit
North Dakota – Nebraska will only honor the Class 1 permit
South Dakota – Nebraska will only honor the Enhanced permit

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $100
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

New Hampshire reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

New Hampshire is a Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue) state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 18 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 4 years.

29 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - No
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue)
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 18
  • Permit Cost (new) - $10
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 4

New Jersey reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

New Jersey is a May Issue (but acts like no Issue) state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 2 years.

24 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes
  • Purchase permit required - Yes
  • Registration of firearm - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Open carry allowed - No handguns / Yes long guns
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No handguns / Yes long guns
  • Magazine size restriction - Yes

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - May Issue (but acts like no Issue)
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $50
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 2

New Mexico reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

New Mexico is a May Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 4 years.

23 STATES

Resident Licences
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Kansas, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
NONE

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - May Issue
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $100
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 4

Nevada reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Nevada is a Shall Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

31 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - Yes
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $96
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

New York reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

New York is a May Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

23 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin

Non-Resident Licences
NONE

Districts & Territories: New York City

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Registration of firearm - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Open carry allowed - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - Yes
  • Magazine size restriction - Yes

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - May Issue
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $20
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 4

Ohio reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Ohio is a Shall Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

38 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
NONE

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania,Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $67
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

Oklahoma reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Oklahoma is a Shall Issue (Constitutional carry will go into effect Nov 1, 2019) state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 5-10 years.

37 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue (Constitutional carry will go into effect Nov 1, 2019)
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $100
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5-10

Oregon reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Oregon is a Shall Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 4 years.

23 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - Yes
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $65
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 4

Pennsylvania reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Pennsylvania is a Shall Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

31 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

RESIDENTIAL PERMITS ONLY: Arizona, Florida, Mississippi, Utah, Virginia
ND CLASS 1 PERMITS ONLY: North Dakota

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $20
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

Rhode Island reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Rhode Island is a Shall Issue (May Issue for permits issued by the Attorney General’s Office) state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 4 years.

23 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - Yes
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue (May Issue for permits issued by the Attorney General’s Office)
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $40
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 4

South Carolina reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

South Carolina is a Shall Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

33 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, South Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $50
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

South Dakota reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

South Dakota is a Shall Issue (Three types of permits: Regular, Gold and Enhanced) state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

34 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
NONE

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue (Three types of permits: Regular, Gold and Enhanced)
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $10/$70/$100
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

Tennessee reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Tennessee is a Shall Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 8 years.

38 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $100
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 8

Texas reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Texas is a Shall Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

36 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, New York City, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $40
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

Utah reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Utah is a Shall Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

36 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York,North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $57
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

Virginia reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Virginia is a Shall Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

34 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $50
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

Vermont reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Vermont Does not issue permit.

9 STATES

Resident Licences
Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Oklahoma, West Virginia (ID or drivers license only)

Non-Resident Licences
NONE

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York,North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - No
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - Yes
  • Magazine size restriction - Yes

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Does not issue permit.
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 18
  • Permit Cost (new) - N/A
  • Permit Valid for (years) - N/A

Washington reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Washington is a Shall Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents & Non-Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

25 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin

Non-Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin

Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Utah

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - Yes
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue
  • Issued to - Residents & Non-Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $48
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

Wisconsin reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Wisconsin is a Shall Issue state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

29 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
NONE

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming

Districts & Territories: Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - Yes handguns / No long guns
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Shall Issue
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $40
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

West Virginia reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

West Virginia is a Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue) state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

36 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Non-Resident Licences
NONE

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Wyoming

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - No
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue)
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $75
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

Wyoming reciprocity guide for LTC licenses

Wyoming is a Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue) state, with the law regulating ownership of firearms to any person of at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm. Licenses to carry are issued to Residents. Permit is valid for 5 years.

36 STATES

Resident Licences
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin

Non-Resident Licences
NONE

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin

Permit Quickfacts

  • Carry permit required - No
  • Purchase permit required - No
  • Registration of firearm - No
  • Open carry allowed - Yes
  • Background checks on private gun sales required - No
  • Magazine size restriction - No

License Overview

Pistol License Overview

  • Issue policy - Constitutional Carry/Unrestricted/Permitless Carry (but acts like Shall Issue)
  • Issued to - Residents
  • Minimum Age Required - 21
  • Permit Cost (new) - $64
  • Permit Valid for (years) - 5

FAQs

Concealed carry reciprocity means that each state must reciprocate the approval of a firearm permit that any other state has issued. In other words, anyone with a concealed-carry gun license that is valid in one state, may travel to any other state with the permitted weapon and not worry about being fined or arrested for carrying that handgun concealed.

The Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act (H.R. 38) would require all U.S. states to recognize concealed carry handgun permits granted by other states. If the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act becomes law, you'll be able to carry a firearm legally across state lines and onto the streets of any city in America.

Concealed carry is the practice of carrying a gun in public in a concealed manner, either in close proximity or on one's person.

If you hold a concealed carry permit but do not have any non-resident permits from other states, you can still carry concealed in some states. Keep in mind, some states absolutely do not honor any out-of-state concealed carry permits. Check the reciprocity map above for details.

Concealed carry permits do not transfer. Even if a state acknowledges your concealed carry permit from another state, it does not mean it is transferable.

If a resident or non-resident is moving to a constitutional carry state, there's no need to get a permit. Nonetheless, you should keep your home state's permit valid for concealed carry reciprocity.

As of 2019, the states that permit to carry a gun without a license are: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Vermont, West Virginia, Wyoming.

IMPORTANT: *Please note, this article is not intended to replace seeking legal advise. Laws are constantly changing on a day to day basis. The responsibility is on you and you alone to know your rights and do the proper research in exercising your second amendment rights.